How can I restore my XE700T1 tablet PC to the initial status?

Last Update date : 2015.11.02

You can use Recovery to perform a "Recovery" to restore your Tablet PC to its initial status. It restores the PC to the condition it was in when a Complete Backup was made. If a Complete Backup was never made, this can still be used to restore the PC to its initial status. (Out of the Box condition)

Warning: A Complete restore erases all current files, settings, programs, and other data and replaces them with the files, settings, programs, and other data contained in the Complete Backup. In other words, it restores your computer to the way it was when you made the Complete Backup. Also, note that any programs installed after the Complete Backup will still need to be reinstalled.

Important: If you have data that you need to save, create a Backup before performing a Complete Restore. With a Backup you can save your files to an external device.

 

To restore, follow the guide below:

 

To perform a recovery on your laptop, follow the steps below:

Swipe from the right edge of your display towards the center to open the Charms menu.

Select the Search charm.

Tap the Search bar and type 'Recovery'. Select Recovery from the search options.

When you run Recovery for the first time, the End-User License Agreement is displayed. Read the Terms and if you agree, click Agree.

On the main Recover screen, click on Recover from the main menu.

Under 'Select recovery point' select the restore point you would like to restore to. If you have not created any restore points, the computer will restore to the out-of-box defaults.

Click Recover. A message will appear stating that you need to reboot the computer to begin. Click OK.

 

When the computer restarts a window appears stating 'Please wait...'

Once this is done, the Recovery window will appear. This process may take a couple minutes.

The Start Recovery window appears. Click OK.

When the recovery is finished, a Restart System message appears, click OK to restart the system and complete the restore.

 

Warning:

  • Do not rename the backup folder created by Recovery or change the directory structure in the backup. If the name or structure has changed, Recovery will not see your recovery point when you attempt to perform a restore.
  • Recovery erases all current files, settings, programs and other data and replaces them with the files, settings, programs and other data contained in the Backup. In other words, it restores your computer to the way it was when you made the Backup. Also, note that any programs installed after the Backup will still need to be reinstalled.

Important: If Windows does not boot, hold the volume up button down when powering on the tablet to access Recovery.

 

Did't you find the solution you were looking for?

If you have additional questions or require further assistance, please chat with our experienced technical team online.  Live Chat
※ Our operation hours are 8:00 am to 10:00 pm from Sunday to Saturday (7 days a week)

Contents Satisfaction Survey

Q1. Is this content helpful?

Q2. How satisfied were you with this content?

Q3. Tell us what you think. What could we have done to answer your question better?

Share this item

Close Share pop-up

Thank you!

We appreciate you filling in this questionnaire and thank you for helping us improve the Samsung.com website.

ok