UHD - Ultra High Definition: An Overview

Last Update date : 2017.10.25

Ultra High Definition Television (also known as Ultra HD television or UHDTV) includes 4K UHD (2160p) and 8K UHD (4320p), These are two digital video formats proposed by NHK Science & Technology Research Laboratories and defined and approved by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU).



(Variation from Standard definition to Ultra High Definition)


Samsung display panel provides an aspect ratio of 16:9 for carrying and presenting native video at a minimum resolution of 3840 × 2160 pixels. The " p " in 2160p and 4320p stand for progressive scan.


UHD TV consist two resolutions (2160p) and (4320p) as follows:  


●    UHDTV (2160p) has a resolution of 3840 × 2160 (8.3 megapixels), 4 times the pixels of 1920 × 1080 (2.1 megapixels).


●    UHDTV (4320p) has a resolution of 7680 × 4320 (33.2 megapixels), 16 times the pixels of 1920 × 1080 (2.1 megapixels).


Note: You will see UHD in your TV screen instead of 4K or 8K.

Contents Satisfaction Survey

Q1. Is this content helpful?

Q2. How satisfied were you with this content?

Q3. Tell us what you think. What could we have done to answer your question better?

Need Service? Service Center Locations

Share this item

Close Share pop-up

Thank you!

We appreciate you filling in this questionnaire and thank you for helping us improve the Samsung.com website.