What is Factory Reset Protection? (FRP)

Last Update date : 2017.06.14

What is Factory Reset Protection?

 

Android devices provide built-in security features you can use to protect your device and information, including screen locks and data encryption. Factory Reset Protection (FRP), is a security feature on Android devices with Android OS Version 5.1 (Lollipop) and higher.

 

FRP is automatically activated when you set up a Google account on your device. Once FRP is activated, it prevents use of your device after a Factory Data Reset, until you log into your device using the Google username and password which was initially set up on your device.

 

 

How does FRP work?

 

When you perform a Factory Data Reset, all settings are returned to the factory default settings. All personal data is erased, including files and downloaded apps.

 

If you have a Google account set up on the device, FRP has been activated. This means that after the Factory Data Reset, you'll be required to log in to the Google account in order to use the device.

 

This means, if your device has been lost or stolen, and if your device has been Factory Data Reset, this will trigger the FRP lock and will not be able to be used unless your Google account has been logged in on your device.

 

 

What do I need to know about FRP?

 

If you want to reset your device to factory default settings, ensure that you know your Google account login credentials as you will need it to log in once you have reset your device.

 

If you want to reset your device to factory default settings, but don't remember your Google account credentials, you can action one of the following:

 

● Check your Google account settings and reset your password via the device or at www.google.com

 

● If you have reset your password, it can take 24-72 hours for the password reset to sync with all devices registered to the account.

 

● It is recommended to remove your Google account before you Factory Data Reset your device.

 

If you already reset your device, but don't remember your Google username and/or password, the device CANNOT be used. If this is the case, please action the following:

 

● If you know your Google account username but cannot remember the password, you can reset your password on the device, or at www.google.com. It can take 24-72 hours for a new password to sync with all registered devices. Try logging in to your device with the new password after the suggested timeframe.

 

● If you have multiple Google accounts registered on your device, but you can't remember which Google account you initially set up your device with, visit https://www.google.com/android/devicemanager.

Log in with your Google account and check the list of devices registered to the account. If you don't see the device listed on the account, it means that your device is not currently linked with this Google account. Repeat the process until you have found the correct linked Google account.

 

● If you cannot remember any of your Google account information, and FRP has been triggered, visit one of our Authorised Service Centres to receive professional assistance. Please ensure that you have your Proof of Purchase to show evidence of ownership of your device.

 

Please Note: Additional fees and costs may incur.

Contents Satisfaction Survey

Q1. Is this content helpful?

Q2. How satisfied were you with this content?

Q3. Tell us what you think. What could we have done to answer your question better?

Need Service? Service Center Locations

Share this item

Close Share pop-up

Thank you!

We appreciate you filling in this questionnaire and thank you for helping us improve the Samsung.com website.

ok