How do I delete all of my personal information from my Samsung Galaxy Tab® S 10.5?

Last Update date : 2014.12.23

Delete All Personal Information


Your device lets you delete all of your personal information from the device (the microSD™ card is not affected). This feature ensures your data are removed before sending the device in for replacement or repair, properly disposing of the device, or giving the device to a friend or family member to use.

IMPORTANT: Your personal information cannot be recovered after using this feature. Please save any information you need to your computer prior to using this feature.

To delete all of your personal information from your device, from the Home screen, touch Apps 1 > Settings 1 > Backup and reset 1 > Factory data reset.

Mark the Format SD™ card checkbox if you also want to delete the information on your microSD card.

WARNING: Formatting your microSD card will remove all personal information from the card. This information cannot be recovered.

Read the information provided and touch Reset device. If you have a security lock set, you will be prompted to enter the lock information before proceeding. Touch Delete all to delete all information and downloaded applications.

The process may take a few minutes while your device removes your personal data and restores the Android™ platform to its original state. You can reinstall any downloaded or purchased applications from Google Play™ Store.

Remote Factory Reset


Google™ offers an Android Device Manager application that lets you track your Android device's location and reset its memory remotely. Both Location services and the erase feature must be turned on and active on your device for the remote factory reset to work.

To turn on the remote erase feature, from the Home screen, touch Apps 1 > Google Settings1 > Android Device Manager > Allow remote lock and erase > Activate.


To perform a remote factory reset from your computer:

1. Sign in to the Device Manager website using the Google Account associated with the device you want to locate.

2. Click Accept to allow the location data to be sent to Google.

3. An interactive dialog box displays in the top-left corner.

4. Click Erase1 and then click Erase again to confirm deletion.

Contents Satisfaction Survey

Q1. Is this content helpful?

Q2. How satisfied were you with this content?

Q3. Tell us what you think. What could we have done to answer your question better?

If you have additional questions or require further assistance, please chat with our experienced technical team online.   Live Chat
※ Our operation hours are 24hours from Monday to Sunday

Share this item

Close Share pop-up

Thank you!

We appreciate you filling in this questionnaire and thank you for helping us improve the Samsung.com website.

ok