Indian Contingent for World Cyber Games 2007 Finals at Seattle finalised

Sep 02, 2009

Mumbai makes a clean sweep at the India Finals of WCG 2007
First Ever Indo-Pak Friendly 'Counterstrike' Match held

New Delhi / Mumbai, September 11, 2007: World Cyber Games 2007 (WCG 2007) – India Finals, sponsored by SAMSUNG India, came to an exciting finish yesterday with the India winners being selected from a keenly contested gaming event held at World Trade Centre in Mumbai. The Finals had Preliminary round winners from top metro cities of Delhi, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Chennai, Bangalore and Mumbai - contesting at the Mumbai Finals for a chance to represent India at the WCG World Finals being held at Seattle, Washington USA, between October 3rd – 7th, 2007. Mumbai made a clean sweep at the Finals with all the 10 Winners - 5 individual team players and 5 members from the 'Counterstrike' team emerging from Mumbai city. The names of the Winners are as follows: 1. Chotu Vohra …. Age of Empires III 2. Sunil Yash Mayekar … Project Gotham Racing 3. Arun Ravi Singh … Need for Speed 4. Sagar Vaishnav Jayantilal … Warcraft III 5. Reuben Periera …. FIFA Soccer 2007 Counterstrike team winners are: Mikhail Mehra (Captain); Ben Veghese; Amar Ratnam; Ritesh A Shah; Neelesh Jaiswal World Cyber Games (WCG) – a unique computer gaming event of international repute is designed to build a healthy cyber culture. The best gamers around the world gather in various cities to share the excitement and fun of the game tournaments. SAMSUNG Electronics Co. Ltd, South Korea – is the main sponsor for the WCG in over 70 countries this year. This Year's WCG'07 tournament in India was even more special and exciting because of the friendly 'Counterstrike' match between the India Finalists and the Pakistani 'Counterstrike' team, who flew down to Mumbai from Lahore for this Match. The 6 member Pakistani team, who also represented Pakistan at the ESWC Sports 2007 held in Paris earlier this Year, was led by Syed Zain Abbas Naqvi (Age: 29 yrs) – Captain of the Counterstrike team, called 'Havok'. Farhan Gulrez Rashid is the Team Manager and 'Havok' has the following team members along with Syed Zain: Yousef Masud (Age: 15 yrs); Haseeb Ahmed (Age: 20 yrs); Muhammed Arslan Sheikh (Age: 19 yrs) and Arslan Nazir (Age: 31 yrs). India won the 'Counterstrike' match by winning all the 3 rounds yesterday .All the players from the Indian and the Pakistani Counterstrike teams were awarded SAMSUNG LCD Monitors by the Company