What is Device Protection, or Factory Reset Protection (FRP)?

Last Update date : 2017.06.22

Android™ devices provide built-in security features you can use to protect your device and information, including screen locks and data encryption. Data protection, or Factory Reset Protection (FRP), is a security feature on Android devices with Lollipop 5.1 and higher.

FRP is automatically activated when you set up a Google™ Account on your device. Once FRP is activated, it prevents use of a device after a factory data reset, until you log in using a Google username and password previously set up on the device.

 

How does FRP work?

 

When you perform a Factory Data Reset, all settings are returned to the factory default settings. All data is erased, including files and downloaded apps.

If you have a Google Account set up on the device, FRP is active. This means that after the reset, you'll be required to log in to the Google Account using the username and password. If you have multiple Google Accounts set up on the device, you can log in using any of the accounts.

If an unauthorized person tries to reset the device by another method, the device would still require log-in using the Google username and password. This means that if your device is lost or stolen, another person would not be able to reset it and use it.

 

What do I need to know about FRP?

 

If you want to reset your device to factory defaults, make sure you know your Google Account and password, because you'll need to log in at the end of the reset.

If you want to reset your device to factory defaults, but don't remember your Google username and/or password, you can do one of these:

 

    > Check your device’s Account settings for your account name, and reset your password via the

        device or at www.google.com. It can take 24 hours for the password reset to sync with all

        devices registered to the account.

    > Remove the account before you reset the device.


 

If you already reset your device, but don't remember your Google username and/or password, the device can't be used. In that case, you can do one of these:

 

1. If you know your Google username but can't remember the password, you can reset your password on the device, or at www.google.com. It can take up to 24 hours for a new password to sync with all registered devices. After 24 hours, you can try logging in to your phone with the new password.

 

2. If you have multiple Google Accounts, and you can't remember which Google Account you set up on your device, visit https://www.google.com/android/devicemanager.


Log in with your Google username and password and check the list of devices registered to the account. If you don't see the device listed on the account, it means the device is registered to a different account. Use the same process to check for devices linked to your other Google Accounts. When you find the registered account, use it to log in to your device.

 

3. If you can't remember any of your Google Account information, you can send your device, along with proof of purchase, to an authorized Samsung Service Center. Samsung has special tools to reset the phone to factory defaults with no protection enabled. 

 

 

Contents Satisfaction Survey

Q1. Is this content helpful?

Q2. How satisfied were you with this content?

Q3. Tell us what you think. What could we have done to answer your question better?

Need Service? Service Center Locations

Share this item

Close Share pop-up

Thank you!

We appreciate you filling in this questionnaire and thank you for helping us improve the Samsung.com website.

ok