1. Home
  2. /
  3. How do I Delete all my Personal Information from my Samsung Galaxy Nexus™?

How do I Delete all my Personal Information from my Samsung Galaxy Nexus™?

Your mobile device enables you to delete all of your personal information from the device (the memory card is not affected). This lets you ensure your data are removed before sending the device in for replacement or repair, properly disposing of the device, or giving the device to a friend or family member to use.

• Your personal information cannot be recovered after using this feature.
• Please save any personal information you need to your computer prior to using this feature.

Deleting All Personal Information

• Your personal information cannot be recovered after using this feature.
• Please save any personal information you need to your computer prior to using this feature.

Your device lets you delete all of your personal information from the device (the memory card is not affected). This feature lets you ensure your data are removed before sending the device in for replacement or repair, properly disposing of the device, or giving the device to a friend or family member to use.

  1. To delete all of your personal information from your device, from the Home screen, touch Apps > Settings > General > Backup and reset > Factory data reset.

  2. Read the information provided, and then touch Reset device

    If you have a security lock set up on the device, you will be prompted to enter the lock information before proceeding.

  3. Touch Delete all to delete all information and downloaded applications.

The process may take a few minutes while your device removes your personal data and restores the Android™ platform to its original state. You can reinstall any downloaded or purchased applications from Google Play™ Store.

Remote Factory Reset

Google™ offers an application that lets you track your Android device's location, and it lets you reset the device's memory remotely. This application is available at google.com/android/devicemanager. Both Location services and the erase feature must be turned on and active on the device.

To turn on the remote factory reset on the device, from the Home screen, touch Apps > Google Settings > Android Device Manager > Allow remote lock and erase > Activate.

  1. Sign in to the website using the Google Account associated with the device you want to locate.

  2. Click Accept to allow the location data to be sent to Google.

  3. An interactive dialog box displays in the top-left corner.

  4. Click Erase and then click Erase again to confirm deletion.

Was this content helpful?

Comments:
Samsung Customer Service

Samsung Customer Service

Need a repair for your Samsung Smartphone or Tablet?

Visit a Customer Service Location for hands-on service and expert advice.

How would you like to contact us?

call us alt 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864)
Mon - Fri : 8AM -12 AM (EST) Sat - Sun : 9AM -11 PM (EST)
24 hour support available for mobile devices
  • Social Support

    Contact us on Twitter or Facebook and we'll reply with an answer to your question or issue.

  • Ask the Community

    Browse answers, ask questions and get solutions from other Samsung customers.

  • Chat with us

    Live Chat support with a Samsung product expert.

  • Send us an Email

    We’ll respond within 24 hours of your request.