Data Backup and Deletion Terms and Conditions

IMPORTANT – PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE RECEIVING REPAIR AND/OR OTHER SERVICES. THESE TERMS AND CONDITIONS CONSTITUTE YOUR AGREEMENT WITH SAMSUNG ELECTRONICS PHILIPPINES CORPORATION  (“SEPCO”) FOR REPAIR SERVICE AND ANY RELEVANT DEVICE OR SOFTWARE UPGRADE PROVIDED BY SAMSUNG, ITS AFFILIATES, ITS THIRD PARTY SUPPLIERS, AND/OR WORKSHOPS (COLLECTIVELY, THE “SERVICES”). THE BENEFITS CONFERRED BY THESE TERMS AND CONDITIONS ARE IN ADDITION TO ALL RIGHTS AND REMEDIES CONVEYED BY CONSUMER PROTECTION LAWS AND REGULATIONS APPLICABLE IN YOUR COUNTRY OF RESIDENCE.

1. Customer’s Responsibility.

It is your responsibility to back up all existing data,software, and programs, and to erase all existing data before receiving Services. Samsung is not responsible for loss, recovery, or compromise of data or loss of use of equipment arising out of or in connection with the Services provided by Samsung. You also represent that your product does not contain any illegal files or data.

 

2. Data Backup and Deletion.

The device settings may be restored back to the factory default settings during the performance of Services. As part of the Service, Samsung may delete any data on the device. It is recommended to maintain a separate backup copy of the contents of the device’s data, including, but not limited to, contact information, pictures, texts, music, ringtones, or applications and remove all personal information that you want to protect. You must back up all personal information on the device before receiving Service. During the Service, it is possible that the data on the device may be lost, replaced or reformatted. In such an event, Samsung will not be responsible for any loss of data, software, programs or other information contained on the device.

 

3. Data Protection/Access.

You must grant Samsung technicians access to the device for the purpose of providing Service. During the Service, personal information stored on the device may be accidentally disclosed to the technician, or it may be necessary to check areas on the device within which your content is located in order to verify the quality of Service. Samsung does not share any content located on your device unless otherwise required by laws or regulations. If you do not wish Samsung to have access to this information, we recommend that you delete that information or reset your device before receiving Service. Test images may be left on your device from the quality control testing process.