1. Home
  2. /
  3. How do I delete all of my personal information from my Samsung Galaxy Note 4?

How do I delete all of my personal information from my Samsung Galaxy Note 4?

Your device lets you perform a factory reset to delete all of your personal information from the device (the microSD™ card is not affected). This feature lets you ensure your data are removed before sending the device in for replacement or repair, properly disposing of the device, or giving the device to a friend or family member to use. Important! Your personal information cannot be recovered after using this feature. Please save any information you need prior to using this feature. Note: Screens and settings available may vary by wireless service provider and software version.

Perform a Factory Reset

  1. From the Home screen, touch Apps Apps Icon.
  2. Touch Settings Icon Settings.
    Note: It may be necessary to switch the Settings menu to list view by touching Menu > View as > List view.
  3. Touch Backup and reset Settings Backup Icon.
  4. Touch Factory data reset.
    move to SD card available
  5. Review the information provided. Mark the Format SD™ card checkbox if you also want to delete the information on your microSD card.
    Warning! Formatting your microSD card will remove all personal information from the card. This information cannot be recovered.
  6. Touch RESET DEVICE or RESET PHONE.
  7. If you have a security lock set on the device, you will be prompted to enter the lock information before proceeding.
  8. Touch DELETE ALL to delete all information and downloaded applications.

The process may take a few minutes while your device removes your personal data and restores the Android™ platform to its original state. You can reinstall any downloaded or purchased applications from Google Play™ Store.

Perform a Remote Factory Reset

Google™ offers an Android Device Manager application that lets you track your Android device's location and reset its memory remotely. Both Location services and the erase feature must be turned on and active on the device.

  1. From the Home screen, touch Apps Apps Icon.
  2. Touch Google Settings Google Settings Icon.
  3. Touch Security or Android Device Manager.
  4. If necessary, touch the slider next to Allow remote lock and erase to turn on the feature.
    move to SD card available
  5. Touch ACTIVATE.
  6. From your computer, sign in to the website using the Google Account associated with the device you want to locate.
  7. Click Accept to allow the location data to be sent to Google.
  8. An interactive dialog box displays in the top-left corner.
    move to SD card available
  9. Click Erase Erase Device via Android Device Manager Icon.
  10. Click Erase again to confirm deletion. 

 


simulator banner

Sprint | T-Mobile

Was this content helpful?

Comments:
27 people found this helpful.
Samsung Customer Service

Samsung Customer Service

Need a repair for your Samsung Smartphone or Tablet?

Visit a Customer Service Location for hands-on service and expert advice.

How would you like to contact us?

Give us a call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864)
Mon - Fri : 8AM -12 AM (EST) Sat - Sun : 9AM -11 PM (EST)
Printer support visit: hp.com/support/samsung

Chat with us

Live Chat support with a Samsung product expert.

24 HOURS 7 DAYS A WEEK

Help with your order

Send us your inquiry and we will respond within 24 hours.

Social Support

Contact us on Twitter or Facebook and we'll reply with an answer to your question or issue.

Ask the Community

Browse answers, ask questions and get solutions from other Samsung customers.

Send us an Email

We’ll respond within 24 hours of your request.

Question about a promotion?

Learn more about Samsung promotions.