Community: Supporting needs in communities

Samsung Innovation Quotient

Established in 2011 for a period of two years, Samsung Innovation Quotient was a platform to recognise innovators who have developed products and services or improvised systems and processes with the aim to create a sustainable solution for the benefit of the society at large.

Bringing together entrepreneurs, innovators and experts on a single platform ensured that these innovations or ideas also became self supporting. The innovations submitted for the Samsung Innovation Quotient are evaluated on their originality of idea, feasibility of the business model given the market opportunity, scalability, potential for growth as well as quality of social impact amongst others.

A portable, non-invasive, low cost device that helps in pre-screening of major eye diseases; an interactive voice response system that allows the farmers to remotely control the agricultural motor using his mobile or landline through; A device that mechanises the tedious process of pattern-weaving on the 'Tie & Dye' Pochampalli silk sarees are some of the innovations that have walked away with the honors at the Samsung Innovation Quotient over the two years.

Tagore Literature Awards

Named after the legendary poet, Sri Rabindranth Tagore, the Tagore Literature Awards represents Samsung’s efforts in igniting the rich Indian cultural heritage through the recognised works of the best literary talent.

Instituted by Samsung India and the Sahitya Akademi, India's National Academy of Letters, the awards felicitates writers in eight Indian languages every year, with 24 Indian languages being covered by the end of the third year. The literary contributions by writers are adjudged by a jury panel selected by Sahitya Akademi.

The Tagore Literature Awards have, over the past years (2010 to 2012) recognised literary works across different genres of novels, poetry, short stories essays, biography/autobiography and plays in Bengali, Bodo, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Punjabi, Assamese, Dogri, Marathi, Odia, Rajasthani, Santali, Tamil, English, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Nepali, Sindhi and Urdu.