金奇南博士肖像;设备解决方案部门总裁兼 CEO

Kinam Kim 博士, 副董事长兼首席执行官

设备解决方案部门

Kinam Kim 博士是三星电子设备解决方案部门的主管,负责内存、系统 LSI 和晶圆代工厂业务部门的全球运营。

在 Kim 博士的领导下,十多年来,三星凭借在 DRAM、NAND 闪存 和 SSD 领域率先推向市场的产品,其内存业务一如既往地保持着较高的市场份额和技术领先地位。三星的 系统大规模集成 (S.LSI) 业务在适用于各种应用的逻辑 IC 产品(例如,移动处理器 (AP)、调制解调器芯片组、互补 金属氧化物半导体 (CMOS) 图像传感器和显示屏驱动器 集成电路 (IC))方面也有着出色的表现。此外,新推出的晶圆代工厂业务在先进的逻辑工艺和专业技术方面处于优势地位,例如,射频 (RF)、业界先进的 高介电金属闸极 (HKMG : High-K Metal Gate) 晶体管以及 14 纳米和 10 纳米鳍式场效应晶体管工艺技术。他的贡献、领导能力和战略眼光为三星确立在半导体行业的技术优势地位铺平了道路。

自 1981 年加入公司以来,Kim 博士成为三星向前发展的推动者已有超过 35 年的时间。在担任现职之前,他曾担任多种领导职务,其中包括 三星 Display Co. 和 三星 Advanced Institute of Technology (SAIT) 的总裁兼首席执行官,当时,他负责领导前沿技术的研究和开发,这些前言技术不仅对半导体行业产生了重大影响,而且对相关行业(例如,量子点、石墨烯、碳纳米管和先进材料)的影响也不可小觑。

Kim 博士已在知名的学术期刊上发表了 480 多篇技术论文,其中包括《自然》和《科学》上的多篇论文,而且还拥有 130 多项专利。他是美国国家工程院院士、电气电子工程师学会会士以及韩国国家工程院院士执行委员会委员。他对半导体行业的贡献已经得到公认,并且获得了一系列的荣誉,其中部分最新荣誉包括 2017 年“IMEC 终身成就奖”和 2016 年“闪存峰会终身成就奖”。

Kim 博士于 1981 年获得首尔大学电气工程专业学士学位,1983 年获得韩国科学技术院 (KAIST) 电气工程专业硕士学位,1994 年获得加利福尼亚大学洛杉矶分校 (UCLA) 电气工程专业博士学位。

Gyoyoung Jin 博士肖像;设备解决方案部门总裁兼总经理

Gyoyoung Jin 博士, 总裁兼总经理

设备解决方案部门内存业务

Gyoyoung Jin 博士是三星电子设备解决方案部门内存业务的总裁兼总经理。

自 1997 年加入三星电子以来,Jin 博士一直在三星的内存业务方面担任关键技术和领导职务,并成功领导开发了众多旗舰内存产品和技术。他负责将关键的下一代内存技术推向市场,并将业界先进的 DRAM 工艺的开发和商品化从 80 纳米级优化至卓越的 10 纳米级。

在担任现职之前,他负责领导公司的 DRAM 研发工作,同时负责监督各个团队,包括设计技术、工艺体系结构和产品工程以及基于 DRAM 的产品解决方案团队。

2011 年,Jin 博士被选为 三星 Fellow,以表彰他在 DRAM 技术的各方面所拥有的广泛专业知识,以及他对三星内存业务的持续增长做出的突出贡献。三星 Fellow 是公司内部授予关键技术专家的最高荣誉,只有在各自的领域展现出杰出的全球专业知识的人才可获得。

Jin 博士获得了首尔大学电气工程专业学士学位(1985 年)、硕士学位(1987 年)和博士学位(1994 年)。

Inyup Kang 博士肖像;系统 LSI 业务总裁兼总经理

Inyup Kang 博士, 总裁兼总经理

设备解决方案部门系统 LSI 业务

Inyup Kang 博士是三星电子设备解决方案部门系统 LSI 业务的总裁兼总经理。

在被任命为系统 LSI 业务总经理之前,他领导过公司内外的众多研发团队。1996 年到 2009 年,他在 Qualcomm 担任技术副总裁,领导研发了几代蜂窝调制解调器芯片组。2010 年加入三星电子并担任位于圣地亚哥的 DMC 实验室总监后,他一直是三星的执行副总裁,负责蜂窝基带/RF 芯片组以及 2G、3G 和 4G 软件的研发和商品化。

得益于他在调制解调器和相关无线通信技术方面的经验和见解,以及他开发的众多创新产品,三星的系统 LSI 业务已经在移动行业中占据了一席之地。

他在三星的成就包括业界先进的 14 纳米 SoC、Exynos 7 Octa (7420) 和 Exynos 8 Octa (8890) 的商品化,其中 Exynos 8 Octa (8890) 是三星的首款旗舰移动 SoC,采用调制解调器集成芯片和定制 CPU 内核。此外,Kang 博士还领导开发了业界先进的 10 纳米 SoC Exynos 9 (8895),该产品在业内较先整合了对 5 频段载波聚合调制解调器的支持。

Kang 博士分别于 1985 年和 1987 年获得了首尔大学电气工程专业学士学位和硕士学位,并于 1996 年获得了 UCLA 电气工程专业博士学位。

ES Jung 博士肖像;代工业务总裁兼总经理

ES Jung 博士, 总裁兼总经理

设备解决方案部门晶圆代工厂业务

ES Jung 博士是三星电子设备解决方案部门晶圆代工厂业务的总裁兼总经理。

在担任现职之前,他从 2012 年开始担任三星半导体研发中心的负责人,负责先进逻辑和内存工艺技术(包括下一代材料和工具开发)的研究和开发。此外,他还曾担任三星晶圆代工厂制造运营中心的高级副总裁,并负责领导系统 LSI SoC 工艺体系结构团队。

自 1985 年加入三星电子以来,Jung 博士在开发众多创新技术方面发挥了关键作用,而这些技术极大地巩固了三星在半导体市场的地位。借助在他的领导下开发的先进技术,三星能够率先基于 14 纳米和 10 纳米鳍式场效应晶体管工艺技术大规模生产 20 纳米和 10 纳米级 DRAM、3D 垂直式 NAND 和 SoC。

Jung 博士是韩国国家工程院院士。

Jung 博士获得了首尔大学物理教育专业学士学位和物理学专业硕士学位,并获得了德州大学阿灵顿分校物理学专业博士学位。

* SSD - 固态硬盘          * DRAM - 动态随机存储器

Samsung Semiconductor Executives, Dr. Kinam Kim, Device Solutions Division President & CEO

Dr. Kinam Kim, President & CEO

Device Solutions Division

Dr. Kinam Kim is the head of Samsung Electronics Device Solutions Division, overseeing global operations of the Memory, System LSI and Foundry business units.

Under Dr. Kim's leadership, Samsung’s memory business continues to maintain its top market share and technology leadership with first-to-market products in DRAM, NAND flash and solid state drives (SSD) for more than a decade. Samsung’s System LSI Business also demonstrates excellence in logic IC products such as application processors (AP), modem chipsets, CMOS image sensors and display driver ICs for a wide range of applications. In addition, the newly-formed Foundry Business is a leader in advanced logic process and specialty technologies, such as radio frequency (RF), industry's first high-k metal gate (HKMG) transistor, and 14-nanometer (nm) and 10nm FinFET process technologies. His contributions, leadership and strategic vision have paved the way for Samsung’s role as a technology leader in the semiconductor industry.

Dr. Kim has been a driving force at Samsung for more than 35 years since he joined the company in 1981. Prior to his current role, he has served in numerous leadership positions including President and CEO of Samsung Display Co. and Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology (SAIT) where he spearheaded the research and development of frontier technologies that have significantly impacted not only the semiconductor industry but also adjacent industries, such as quantum dots, graphene, carbon nanotubes and advanced materials.

Dr. Kim has published more than 480 technical papers in top academic journals, including several papers in Nature and Science, and holds more than 130 patents. He is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering, an IEEE Fellow as well as an executive board member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea. His contributions to the semiconductor industry have been recognized, and some of the latest recognitions include "IMEC Lifetime Achievement Award" in 2017 and "Flash Memory Summit Lifetime Achievement Award" in 2016.

Dr. Kim received his B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Seoul National University in 1981, M.S. in Electrical Engineering from Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) in 1983, and his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) in 1994.

Samsung Semiconductor Executives, Dr. Gyoyoung Jin, Device Solutions Division President & General Manager

Dr. Gyoyoung Jin, President & GM

Memory Business, Device Solutions Division

Dr. Gyoyoung Jin is the President and General Manager of the Memory Business in Samsung Electronics' Device Solutions Division.

Since joining Samsung Electronics in 1997, Dr. Jin has progressed through key technical and leadership positions across Samsung’s memory business and successfully led development of numerous flagship memory products and technologies. He has been responsible for bringing key next-generation memory technologies to market, and directing the development and commercialization of industry-first DRAM processes from the 80-nanometer (nm) class up to the 10nm-class generation.

Prior to his current position, he spearheaded the company’s DRAM R&D efforts, while overseeing a broad range of teams spanning design technology, process architecture and product engineering, as well as DRAM-based product solutions.

In 2011, Dr. Jin was selected as a Samsung Fellow in recognition of his extensive expertise in all aspects of DRAM technology, as well as his significant contribution to the consistent growth of the Samsung Memory Business. Samsung Fellow is the highest recognition given to key technology experts within the company who demonstrate outstanding global expertise in their respective fields.

Dr. Jin received his bachelor's (1985), master's (1987) and doctorate (1994) degrees in electrical engineering from Seoul National University.

Samsung Semiconductor Executives, Dr. Inyup Kang, System LSI Business President & General Manager

Dr. Inyup Kang, President & GM

System LSI Business, Device Solutions Division

Dr. Inyup Kang is the President and General Manager of the System LSI Business in Samsung Electronics' Device Solutions Division.

Before his appointment as the General Manager of System LSI Business, he led numerous R&D teams in and out of the company. From 1996 to 2009, he led generations of cellular modem chipsets as vice president of technology at Qualcomm. After joining Samsung Electronics in 2010 as Chief Director at the DMC lab in San Diego, he has been working at Samsung as executive vice president in charge of R&D and commercialization of cellular baseband/RF chipsets, as well as software for 2G, 3G, and 4G.

Owing to his experience and insight in modem and relevant wireless communication technologies, Samsung’s System LSI Business has become one of the key players in the mobile industry with his development of numerous innovative products.

His achievements at Samsung include commercialization of the industry’s first 14nm SoC, Exynos 7 Octa (7420), and Exynos 8 Octa (8890), which was Samsung’s first flagship mobile SoC with a modem-integrated chip and custom CPU core. Dr. Kang also led the development of the industry’s first 10nm SoC, Exynos 9 (8895), which also integrates support for 5-band carrier aggregation modems for the first time in the industry.

Dr. Kang received B.S. and M.S. degrees in Electronics Engineering from Seoul National University in 1985 and 1987, respectively, and a Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from UCLA in 1996.

Samsung Semiconductor Executives, Dr. ES Jung, Foundry Business President & General Manager

Dr. ES Jung, President & GM

Foundry Business, Device Solutions Division

Dr. ES Jung is the President and General Manager for the Foundry Business in Samsung Electronics’ Device Solutions Division.

Prior to his current position, he spearheaded research and development of advanced logic and memory process technologies including next-generation material and tool development as the head of Samsung’s Semiconductor R&D Center since 2012. He also held responsibilities at Samsung’s Foundry Manufacturing Operation Center as Senior VP and System LSI SoC Process Architecture Team.

Since joining Samsung Electronics in 1985, Dr. Jung has played a pivotal role in developing many innovative technologies that greatly strengthened Samsung’s leading position in the semiconductor market. With the advanced technologies developed under his leadership, Samsung was able to become the first in the industry to mass produce 20nm and 10nm-class DRAM, 3D Vertical NAND, and SoCs based on 14 and 10nm FinFET process technologies.

Dr. Jung is a member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea.

Dr. Jung received his B.S. degree in Physics Education and M.S. in Physics from Seoul National University, and his Ph.D. in Physics from The University of Texas, Arlington.