AI 无处不在

人工智能(简称 AI)曾经是科幻小说中的内容,它正以过去我们认为不可能的方式简化我们的工作和生活。新一代智能机器正在改变我们与技术交互和利用技术的方式,并在此过程中使我们的生活变得更智能。请继续阅读,详细了解什么是 AI,以及三星的半导体解决方案如何将其带到一个新的水平。

AI 是什么?

简而言之,AI 技术使计算机能够以与人类相似的方式思考。这意味着,当面临任务时,AI 系统将从其环境中获取信息,选择适当的响应,并从所犯的任何错误中吸取教训,以确保下次成功。

AI 实际上是一个适用于各种技术(包括机器学习和自然语言处理)的总括术语。

如今,从智能手机、电器到自动驾驶汽车,甚至医疗保健,AI 的应用随处可见。而且,这仅仅是个开始;不久之后,AI 技术就会无处不在,而且十分便捷。

解读周围世界的设备

也许理解 AI 的最简单方法是将其视作一种技术,这种技术可以使设备能够进行与人类认知活动相似的活动,从而执行任务。图像和语音识别是此类智能的明确标志,也是人工智能迅速发展的两个领域。

图像识别系统正在迅速发展,不仅能够识别物体和面部表情,而且能够识别物体和面部表情背后的背景和细微差别。有些人甚至可以利用这种洞察力来生成全新的超逼真图像。

语音识别系统利用深度学习来分析数十亿个单词以及复杂的短语和句子结构,并使智能辅助服务能够理解和响应用户复杂的命令。

教授学习方法

使设备能够独立思考的过程始于一种称为机器学习的 AI 概念。这个想法很简单:您教计算机识别数据模式并自行做出可靠的决策,而不是为计算机编程以执行特定任务。

深度学习是机器学习的一个子类,其中人工神经网络(受人脑结构启发的算法)用于识别大量数据中的模式。深度学习可用于支持自动语言翻译等复杂功能,是大型社交和商务应用的理想选择。

推理机

训练一个系统来识别它所看到的是一回事,要求系统从所分析的数据中抽取数据并“想象”一个全新的结果——或者一个从未见过的概念或对象,这是另一回事。迄今为止,事实证明训练 AI 系统进行推理是困难的,但得益于深度学习的进步,我们在不断接近这一目标。

一旦 AI 系统变得能够推理,它们将能够像人类一样更灵活地“思考”,并推断它们识别的对象之间的相对关系。这种关系型智能将彻底改变各个领域,包括汽车和制造业,以及金融业和安全领域。

能够“宏观思考”
的 AI

通常,当一个人做出决定时,他们不仅要考虑其直接影响,还要考虑任何未来的影响。有时,从长远的角度出发,我们会选择一个当下可能不是最好的,但从长远看会带来回报的选择。

如今,许多 AI 系统经过培训后可以进行同样的“宏观思考”。在决策时采取全局性的方法,它们会“想象”每个选项的结果,然后最终选择最有可能实现最终目标的选择,即使这种选择在短期内会带来困难。

  • 赋予机器学习的能力

    机器学习是使 AI 能够分析复杂数据并自动预测未来操作的过程。通过监督学习对数据进行标签分类,并通过无监督学习识别数据集中的模式,使机器能够帮助我们更快、更准确地做出决策。通过强化学习方法(一个类似于人和动物通过反复试验学习的过程),机器和设备无需显式编程即可独立扩展其功能。这些过程共同构成了 AI 支持的所有功能的基础。

  • 人造大脑:神经元的力量

    得益于深度学习,设备现在可以以令人难以置信的精度分析和识别图像和物体等输入数据。此功能是由人工神经网络 (ANN) 实现的,这些神经网络由互连的算法层(称为神经元)组成,能够以与我们类似的方式处理和学习数据。

    深度神经网络 (DNN) 是一种在输入和输出之间包含多层结构的人工神经网络。与人脑的功能类似,DNN 的运作方式是通过互联的神经元组成的结构层传递输入数据,然后进行处理。卷积是一种线性数学运算,通常用于识别图像、语音和自然语言处理中的数据模式。

  • 大产业:AI 和大数据

    AI 最令人兴奋的应用之一是大数据的处理——数据集如此庞大和复杂,无法使用传统技术进行处理。企业优先考虑大数据,因为如果分析得当,此类数据集可能会揭示有价值的见解,有助于它们做出决策。

    借助 AI,分析师将能够把大量数据输入到一种机器学习算法中,该算法能够比人类更快、更高效地筛选和分析信息,从而使企业更容易利用数据可能包含的任何“情报”。

  • 执行更多操作的能力

    将 AI 提升到一个新的水平需要高性能计算 (HPC) 的进步。HPC 指的是以大多数计算机和服务器无法达到的速度处理数据和执行复杂计算的能力,目前正在用于管理各种用途的大量数据,包括高性能数据分析和机器学习模型的训练。

    通过支持并行处理——即计算服务器(称为节点)协同工作以提高处理能力,HPC 使系统能够快速可靠地运行高级、大规模应用程序。这种效率的积累显著增加了数据处理量,这是处理 AI 需要的指数级数据量所必需的。

  • 设备内置 AI 的兴起

    设备内置 AI 的进步将在使互联设备更快、更高效方面发挥关键作用。AI 算法、硬件和软件的快速改进使得将 AI 服务从云端转移到设备本身成为可能。

    将这些服务本地化到移动设备、电器、汽车等工具上,在可靠性、隐私和性能方面带来了令人振奋的优势。设备内置 AI 不仅解决了与网络连接相关的问题,而且速度比云计算快得多,因为它不需要在服务器之间传输数据,而且它使生物识别和其他敏感数据安全地限定在用户设备中。

推动移动设备领域人工智能的发展

除了实现更快的处理、更高的可靠性和更严格的数据安全性外,设备内置 AI 还将改变我们使用移动设备的方式。例如,带有 AI 功能的照相机已经可以通过更好的图像处理优化照片,并通过提供更精确的面部识别来增强生物识别安全性。当 AI 处理在移动设备上本地化时,虚拟和增强现实体验也将变得更加沉浸和互动。通过将自然语言处理和语音识别等重要功能从云计算中转移,虚拟助理也将变得更智能、更有用。

将 HPC 提升到一个新的水平

即将涌入的 AI 服务和技术将为高性能计算 (HPC) 开启新的动态应用。实时流媒体服务等应用程序需要实时处理大量数据,借助快速、HPC 支持的 IT 基础架构,可提供清晰明了的内容。HPC 集群还将受益于效率提高,从而促进计算服务器和存储之间的快速数据传输。此外,随着集群架构在管理资源方面变得更加高效,与支持 HPC 相关的成本将降低,从而降低企业的 TCO(总拥有成本)。

推动汽车领域人工智能的发展

AI 不仅为自动驾驶汽车的发展铺平了道路,而且为使我们的通勤更安全、更高效提供了解决方法。互联车辆使用数十个甚至数百个传感器,其功能包括,1)在驾驶员看到潜在危险之前检测到潜在危险,并控制车轮以避免事故;2)监控关键部件以帮助防止故障,以及 3)监控司机的视线和头部位置,以检测他们何时可能分心或昏昏欲睡。这就是驾驶创新!

推动娱乐领域人工智能的发展

人工智能正在改变我们享受喜爱的娱乐活动的方式,使智能电视名副其实。三星等制造商正在使用 AI 为用户提供更加个性化的内容推荐,并允许用户使用简单的语音命令来控制电视。此外,三星的几款新电视利用机器学习功能,使用户能够以身临其境的分辨率 (8K) 享受自己喜爱的内容。内置 AI 处理器将各种内容扩展为水晶般清晰的 8K,将用户的观看体验带入一个新的水平。

驱动 AI 创新

三星拥有全面的 AI 解决方案组合,包括从移动处理器和内存到 HPC、汽车和电视技术等所有产品,为实施更智能、更个性化和无处不在的 AI 铺平了道路。三星 Exynos 移动处理器采用优质的神经处理单元 (NPU),可实现更强大、更高效的设备内置 AI,而其内存解决方案(LPDDR5 移动 DRAM)则经过优化,可应对 AI 系统苛刻的性能要求。公司的 HBM2E(高带宽内存)解决方案提供支持下一代 AI 技术所需的性能、容量和效率,而其低延迟存储设备(包括 Z-固态硬盘)则专为轻松管理 AI 和 HPC 工作负载而设计。三星 AutoSSD 等内存解决方案通过实现有效的高速车辆驾驶员反馈,推动了智能汽车的开发,而下一代片上系统 (SoC) 技术正在将强大的处理功能与机器学习相结合,在三星新款电视上提供丰富的 8K 娱乐体验。

* LPDDR5 - 五代低功耗双倍数据率同步动态随机存储器         
* DRAM - 动态随机存储器          * AutoSSD - 车载固态硬盘

本网站的产品图片以及型号、数据、功能、性能、规格参数等仅供参考,三星电子有可能对上述内容进行改进,具体信息请参照产品实物、产品说明书。除非经特殊说明,本网站中所涉及的数据均为三星电子内部测试结果,所涉及的对比,均为与三星电子传统产品相比较.

AI is everywhere

Once the stuff of science fiction, artificial intelligence – AI for short – is streamlining our work and daily lives in ways previously thought impossible. A new wave of intelligent machines is transforming the way we interact with and leverage technology, and in the process, making our lives smarter every day. Read on to learn more about what AI is and how Samsung’s semiconductor solutions are taking it to the next level.

A visionary illustration of AI.

What is AI?

In a nutshell, AI technology enables computers to think in a similar way to humans. This means that when faced with a task, an AI system will take in information from its environment, select an appropriate response, and learn from any mistakes it makes to ensure success the next time around.
AI is actually an umbrella term for a wide range of technologies, including machine learning and natural language processing.
Today, it’s found in everything from smartphones and appliances to autonomous vehicles and even healthcare. And that’s just the beginning; it won’t be long before AI technology is as ubiquitous as it is convenient.

An illustrative image of a woman using a voice command through the smartphone.

Devices that interpret the world around them

Perhaps the simplest way to think of AI is as technology that enables devices to perform tasks that require human-like cognition. Image and speech recognition are clear markers of such intelligence, and two areas where AI is rapidly advancing.

Image recognition systems are quickly becoming capable of not just recognizing objects and facial expressions, but also the context and nuance behind them. Some can even utilize this insight to generate completely new, ultra-realistic images.

Speech recognition systems are leveraging deep learning to analyze billions of words, along with complex phrases and sentence structures, and enable intelligent assistant services to understand and respond to users’ sophisticated commands.

An illustrative image of an artificial neural network, dots connected with lines.

Teaching technology to learn

The process of enabling devices to think for themselves begins with an AI concept known as machine learning. The idea is simple: rather than programming a computer to perform a certain task, you teach it to identify patterns in data and make reliable decisions on its own.

Deep learning is a subset of machine learning in which artificial neural networks – algorithms inspired by the structure of the human brain – are used to identify patterns in large amounts of data. Deep learning can be applied to support complicated functions like automatic language translation, and it’s ideal for large-scale social and business applications.

An illustrative image of an artificial neural network, many lines are wired together.

Reasoning machines

TIt’s one thing to train a system to recognize what it’s seeing. It’s another to ask that system to draw from data it’s analyzed and ‘imagine’ a completely new outcome – or a concept or object it’s never seen before. Training AI systems to make inferences has proven difficult thus far, but thanks to advancements in deep learning, we’re getting closer all the time.

Once AI systems become capable of reasoning, they’ll be able to ‘think’ more flexibly, just like humans, and make inferences about the relative relationships between objects they recognize. This sort of relational intelligence is poised to revolutionize a variety of fields, including the automotive and manufacturing industries, as well as finance and security.

An illustrative image of eye.

‘Big picture’ AI

Typically, when a person makes a decision, they consider not just its immediate impact, but any future ramifications as well. Sometimes, looking at the choice from a long-term perspective leads us to choose an option that may not be the best for the moment, but will pay off in the long run.

Many AI systems today are trained to do the same.
Taking a big-picture approach to decision-making, they ‘imagine’ the outcome of each option before ultimately selecting the choice that’s most likely to achieve the end goal – even if that choice presents difficulties in the short term.

  • An infographic of machine learning, including supervised learning, Unsupervised learning and Reinforcement learning.

    Empowering machines to learn

    Machine learning is the process which enables AI to analyze complex data and anticipate future actions automatically. By categorizing data with labels through supervised learning and identifying patterns in data sets via unsupervised learning, the process gives machines the ability to help us make decisions quicker and with greater accuracy. With reinforcement learning methods, a process which resembles how people and animals learn through trial and error, machines and devices can expand their capabilities independently without explicit programming. Together, these processes form the foundation for all AI-enabled features and functionalities.

  • An infographic of artificial neural network (ANN) and deep neural network (DNN). ANN composed of interconnected layers of algorithms and DNN contains multiple layers between the input and output.

    Artificial brains: Power of neurons

    Thanks to deep learning, the devices can now analyze and recognize input data such as images and objects with incredible accuracy. This capability is enabled by artificial neural networks (ANNs) composed of interconnected layers of algorithms, known as neurons, that are capable of processing and learning from data in a similar way to us.
    Deep Neural Network (DNN) is an artificial neural network that contains multiple layers between the input and output. Similar to the way a human brain functions, DNN operates by passing the input through the layers of connected neurons for processing. Convolution, a linear mathematical operation, is typically employed to identify patterns in data for image, speech, and natural language processing.

  • An infographic shows the process of AI processing big data. Big data generate and store data and AI process and reveals insights.

    A BIG deal: AI and Big Data

    One of the most exciting applications for AI involves the processing of Big Data – or data sets so large and complex that they cannot be processed using traditional techniques. Businesses prioritize Big Data because, if analyzed properly, such data sets might reveal valuable insights that could aid them in decision making.
    With AI, analysts will be able to feed massive amounts of data into a machine-learning algorithm that’s capable of sifting through and analyzing the information much faster and more efficiently than a human ever could – making it easier for enterprises to capitalize on any insights that the data may hold.

  • An infographic of HPC's parallel processing with various compute nodes.

    The power to do more

    Taking AI to the next level will require advancements in high-performance computing (HPC). HPC, which describes the ability to process data and carry out complex calculations at speeds that most computers and servers simply cannot match, is currently being used to manage vast amounts of data for a variety of uses, including high-performance data analytics and the training of machine learning models.
    By enabling parallel processing, in which compute servers – known as nodes – work together to boost processing power, HPC allows systems to run advanced, large-scale applications quickly and reliably. Such efficiency adds up to dramatic increases in throughput, which is necessary for processing the exponential amounts of data that come with AI.

  • A comparison infographic of AI using cloud servers and on-device AI. On-device AI does not require network connectivity with faster response.

    The rise of on-device AI

    Advancements in on-device AI will play a key part in making connected devices faster and more efficient. Rapid improvements in AI algorithms, hardware and software are making it possible to shift AI services away from the cloud and onto our devices themselves. Localizing these services on mobile devices, appliances, cars and more presents exciting benefits in terms of reliability, privacy and performance. Not only does on-device AI resolve issues related to network connectivity, it’s also much faster than the cloud because it doesn’t require data to be transmitted to and from a server, and it enables biometric and other sensitive data to be safely confined to the user’s device.

An image of smartphone in portrait mode.

Advancing AI on mobile devices

In addition to enabling much faster processing, greater reliability and tighter data security, on-device AI will revolutionize how we utilize our mobile devices. AI-powered cameras, for example, are already optimizing photos with better image processing, and enhancing biometric security by providing more accurate facial recognition. Virtual and augmented reality experiences, too, will become more immersive and interactive when AI processing is localized to mobile devices. It will also make virtual assistants smarter and more useful by moving vital functions like natural language processing and speech recognition away from the cloud.

An image of high-performance computing.

Taking HPC
to the next level

The impending influx of AI services and technologies will unlock new and dynamic applications for high-performance computing (HPC).
Applications like live-streaming services, which require massive amounts of data to be processed in real time, will deliver crisp and clear content thanks to lightning-fast, HPC-powered IT infrastructures. HPC clusters will also benefit from increased efficiency, facilitating speedy data transmission between compute servers and storage. In addition, the costs associated with supporting HPC will lower as cluster architectures become more efficient at managing resources – lowering businesses’ TCO (total cost of ownership).

An image of autonomous vehicle.

Advancing AI
in automobiles

Not only has AI paved the way for the development of self-driving cars, it also holds the keys to making our commutes safer and more efficient.
Connected vehicles employ dozens or even hundreds of sensors to, among other functions, 1) detect potential hazards before drivers see them, and take control of the wheel to avoid accidents, 2) monitor critical components to help prevent failure, and 3) monitor the driver’s gaze and head position to detect when they may be distracted or drowsy. Talk about driving innovation!

An image of 8K TV.

Advancing
AI
in entertainment

Artificial intelligence is changing the way we enjoy our favorite entertainment by enabling smart TVs to truly live up to their name.
Manufacturers like Samsung are using AI to offer users more personalized content recommendations, and allow them to control their TVs with simple voice commands. In addition, several of Samsung’s latest TVs utilize machine learning to enable users to enjoy their favorite content in the most immersive resolution available: 8K.
A built-in AI processor upscales content of all kinds into crystal clear 8K, taking users’ viewing experiences to the next level.

Driving AI innovation

With a comprehensive portfolio of AI solutions, including everything from mobile processors and memory to HPC, automotive and TV technologies, Samsung is paving the way for the implementation of smarter, more personalized and ubiquitous AI. Samsung’s Exynos mobile processors feature advanced NPUs (neural processing units) for more powerful and efficient on-device AI, while its memory solutions, including the LPDDR5 mobile DRAM, are optimized to handle AI systems’ demanding performance requirements. The company’s HBM2E (high bandwidth memory) solutions offer the performance, capacity and efficiency required to support next-generation AI technologies, while its low-latency storage devices, including the Z-SSD, are engineered to manage AI and HPC workloads with ease. Memory solutions like the Samsung AutoSSD are advancing smart car development by enabling effective, high-speed vehicle-driver feedback, while next-generation system-on-chip (SoC) technologies are combining powerful processing with machine learning to foster rich 8K entertainment experiences on Samsung’s latest TVs.

An image of AI solutions including  Exynos mobile processor, LPDDR5, HBM2E, Z-SSD and AutoSSD.