How do I perform a factory reset on my mobile device?

A factory reset, sometimes called a hard reset or a master reset, will remove all personal information, changes, and data from your device, returning it to the same settings and information it had when it left the factory.

 

Most people will perform factory resets on their device to solve persistent software issues or to ensure that all personal data is removed before giving the device to someone else. 

Warning: most Android devices are secured with Factory Reset Protection. This is a feature designed by Google to prevent your phone from being reset without your permission. If you intend to give your device to someone else once it has been reset, please ensure that you remove your Google account from the device first. Follow the steps under Google device protection for more details.

Backing up prior to a factory resetClick to Expand

Please note: a factory reset will permanently delete all of the following from your phone:

 

  • all personal data
  • customised settings
  • applications downloaded from the Play Store
  • Messages
  • Contacts
  • Photos

Google device protectionClick to Expand

All Android devices are protected by Google's Factory Reset Protection (FRP) feature. If your device has been reset using buttons, you will be asked to enter your Google password before you are allowed access. This feature is designed as a safeguard to prevent unwanted people from using your device if they managed to reset it without your permission, for example, if it was lost or stolen.

 

If you want to remove FRP you will need to remove your Google account from your device before resetting.

1 Tap Settings
Tap settings
2 Tap Accounts and backup or Cloud and accounts or Accounts
Tap Accounts and Backup or Cloud and accounts or Accounts
3 Tap Accounts or Google
Tap accounts or google
4 Tap on your Google account. If your Google account is already displayed, tap the options icon. It will appear as three dots in the upper right corner
Tap on your google account or the options icon
5 Tap Remove account
Tap remove account

Follow any instructions that appear on the screen to finish removing your Google account.


Factory Reset methods

There are three main ways to perform a factory reset: via the Settings menu on your device, using the buttons, or by using the Find My Mobile service.

Performing a Factory Reset via the Settings MenuClick to Expand

Please note: if you have a Google account on your device, you will have Factory Reset Protection. This prevents unauthorised persons from being able to use the device by resetting it if it is lost or stolen. Make sure you know your google account password before performing the reset.

The location of Factory Reset in your settings will differ slightly depending on the model and operating system of your device.


Settings > General Management > Reset > Factory data reset


Settings > Backup and reset > Factory data reset


Settings > Privacy > Factory data reset

Using Find My MobileClick to Expand

Find My Mobile allows you to locate, lock and/or wipe your device remotely among other features. You will need to have set up the remote controls feature on your device before using the Find My Mobile service.


Find out more about how to use Find My Mobile.

Performing a factory reset with buttonsClick to Expand

Please note: if you have a Google account on your device, you will have Factory Reset Protection. This prevents unauthorised persons from being able to use the device by resetting it. Make sure you know your Google account password before performing the reset or have removed your Google account from the device.

 

If you are locked out of your device, you can perform a factory reset using the buttons on your device.

1 Switch off the device
2 Press and hold the volume up button, the power button and the home at the same time
3 When you feel the device vibrate, release ONLY the power button
4 A screen menu will now appear. When you see this, release the remaining buttons
5 Use the volume down button until you are highlighting Delete all user data. Press the power button to select
6 Press the power button again to select the Yes - delete all user data option
7 Press the power button to highlight, then select the reboot option

If you're experiencing unusual behaviour on Samsung mobiles, tablets or wearables, you can send us an error report or ask us a question in the Samsung Members app.


This allows us to take a closer look at what is happening. The data is anonymised and only held for the duration of the investigation. Find out more about sending an error report through the Samsung Members app.


Thank you for your feedback!

Not finding what you're looking for? We're here to help.

Online

Twitter

Tweet us | 9am-9pm, 7 days a week

Facebook Messenger

We are here to help | 9am-9pm, 7 days a week

Smartphone support | 24 hours, 7 days a week
All product support | 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week
SmartThings | 9am - 5:30pm, Mon - Fri

Email

We'll respond within 24 hours of your request.

Email Samsung Shop

For new and existing orders

Order Status & Tracking

Send us an email to get an update on your Samsung Shop order.

Track my repair

Check the status of your repair with Samsung

SmartThings Support

Help with Hubs, Kits, Sensor and Outlets

Call

0818 717100General Support

Smartphone support | 24 hours, 7 days a week
All product support | 8am - 10pm, 7 days a week

0818 302 016Samsung Shop

For new and existing orders | 9am - 5pm, 5 days a week

0124 75161B2B Support

For business support
8am - 6pm, Mon - Fri

Calls to 0818 numbers are a National Call number.
These are subject to call charges which vary by network and are subject to change.
Calls maybe recorded for training and quality purposes.
For information on how we collect and use your details, please refer to our Privacy policy

* For any printer related enquiries please visit the HP website.

Face-to-face support

Samsung Support Centres

Find out more about how you can get face to face help.

Contact Us