Grand Finale Winners

From sustainability to inclusivity, learn about the winning teams' ideas for social change.

Post-secondary winners


1st prize: Singapore Polytechnic

MNKS X CO2 designed a biofilter for vehicles that uses E.Coli bacteria to convert carbon dioxide emissions to oxygen to reduce carbon footprint.

  • Mohammed Khambhati
  • Siew Hean To
  • Keeret Singh
  • Ti Kyi Kyaw
Teacher Mentor:
Roger Chiun
Team Mech Care

2nd prize: ITE College Central

Team Mech Care created a smart assistive device that can facilitate remote rehabilitation process for people who undergo a knee replacement surgery via a mobile application.

  • Wee Chiang Long
  • Nazriah Bte Roslind
  • Abdul Hakiim Bin Abdul Halim
  • Jeremy Chua Zishun
Teacher Mentor:
Michael Ng


3rd prize: Anglo Chinese School (Independent)

PowerwHATt designed a collapsible Origami-inspired solar hat that can harness renewable solar energy to provide electricity in rural communities or remote locales.

  • Christopher Angelo
  • Deny Hazriel
Teacher Mentor:
Jeann Woo

People’s Choice award:

Singapore Polytechnic - MNKS X CO2

University winners

Team Adustio

1st prize: National University of Singapore

Team Adustio created an integrated two-part solar energy system that combines an organic solar battery with a mobile app-assisted asset management system.

  • Alyssa Cheok
  • Yuan Hai Shu

2nd prize: National University of Singapore

JBSamsung integrated a mobile application and a muscle sensor device to help seniors with physical disability and speech difficulties (PDSD) to communicate more effectively with others and improve interactive abilities.

  • Zhang Zhiyao
  • Hu Jia Jun
Team S^2 -Brace

3rd prize: National University of Singapore, Yale-NUS College

Team S^2 -Brace constructed a diagnostic and therapeutic solution that will provide mechanical support for the patient by assisting the quadriceps through an elastic mechanism which tensions during flexion to store energy for redistribution during extension.

  • Matthew Chew
  • Victoria Leong
  • Chua Yun Da
  • Ryan Tian

People’s Choice award:

National University of Singapore – JBSamsung