How to perform a factory reset on your Samsung Galaxy device

Last Update date : Sep 03. 2026

Factory resetting your phone restores it to its factory default settings and deletes all personal data stored on the device. Before you begin, make sure to back up any important data, including your photos, videos, and documents.

Samsung Galaxy phone screen with a reset icon on top of it.

Note: Menu names, settings, and screen layouts may vary depending on the model and software version.

A factory data reset restores your phone to its factory settings and removes all personal data. Follow the steps below to perform a factory data reset.

Note: If a Samsung account is signed in on the device, you must enter the Samsung account password to complete the reset process.

Settings menu with the General management option highlighted. Settings menu with the General management option highlighted.

Step 1. Open Settings > Select General management.

General management menu with the Reset option highlighted. General management menu with the Reset option highlighted.

Step 2. Tap Reset.

Reset screen with Factory data reset option highlighted. Reset screen with Factory data reset option highlighted.

Step 3. Tap Factory data reset.

Factory data reset screen with the Reset button highlighted. Factory data reset screen with the Reset button highlighted.

Step 4. Tap Reset.

Reset screen with the Delete all button highlighted. Reset screen with the Delete all button highlighted.

Step 5. Tap Delete all.

Samsung account screen with a few passwords in the input field. Samsung account screen with a few passwords in the input field.

Step 6. Enter your Samsung account password to complete the reset.

What is Google FRP?

Google Factory Reset Protection (FRP) is a security feature designed to help protect your device if it is lost or stolen.

When a Google account has been registered on a device, FRP may require account verification after a factory reset before the device can be used again.

This feature is included on Android devices running Android 5.1 (Lollipop) and later as part of Google's security policy.

When is FRP activated?

FRP is triggered when the device is reset using methods other than the Factory data reset option in Settings.

After the device restarts, you may be required to verify the Google account that was previously registered on the device before setup can continue.

On devices running Android 9 and later, you may also be able to verify ownership using the previously configured screen lock method, such as a pattern, PIN, or password.

Note: If you do not remember your Google account password or cannot complete Google account verification after a reset, visit a Samsung service centre for assistance.

Thank you for your feedback!

RC01_Static Content : This text is only displayed on the editor page