1. Home
  2. /
  3. Factory Resetting Your SmartThings Hub

Factory Resetting Your SmartThings Hub

To completely redo your SmartThings configuration and start from scratch, you can reset your Hub by deleting the Location it is connected to.

  

Delete a Location and Reset the Hub

Resetting the Hub will restore factory settings. This means all devices connected to your Hub will have to be reset or excluded before they can be reconnected. All automations, rules, configurations, and SmartApps associated with that Hub will be lost in the reset as well.

  1. In the SmartThings mobile app, tap the menu.

      

      

  2. Tap the gear icon beside the Location with the Hub you wish to reset.

      

    To choose a different Location, tap the dropdown arrow and then tap the gear icon for the Location.

      

  3. Tap Remove Location.

        

  4. Confirm deletion by tapping Delete.

If you are unable to delete the Location after following the above steps, it may be necessary to manually delete all SmartApps, Routines, and devices first.

Remove All SmartApps

  1. Tap the menu.

      

      

  2. Tap SmartApps.

      

      

  3. Select a SmartApp.

       

  4. Tap Remove.

       

  5. Confirm removal.

       

  6. Repeat for all SmartApps.

Remove All Routines

  1. Tap Routines.

      

      

  2. Tap the gear icon for a Routine.

       

  3. Scroll down to the bottom.

       

  4. Tap Remove.

       

  5. Confirm removal.

       

  6. Repeat for all Routines.

Remove All Devices

Remove all Devices.

  1. Tap My Home.

      

      

  2. Tap Things.

       

  3. Select a device.

       

  4. Tap the gear icon.

      

      

  5. Tap Remove.

       

  6. Confirm removal.

       

  7. Repeat for all devices.

Deleting the Location

Even after deleting all SmartApps, Routines, and devices, this action may still fail for some users.

  1. Tap the menu.

      

      

  2. Tap the gear icon beside the Location you wish to delete.

      

    To choose a different Location, tap the dropdown arrow and then tap the gear icon for the Location.

      

  3. Tap Remove Location.

       

  4. Confirm the deletion by tapping Delete.
  5. Deleting a Location cannot be undone.

In iOS and Android, removal of a Z-Wave device will prompt Z-Wave exclusion. Follow the in-app instructions to reset, or "exclude," your Z-Wave devices:

  1. The app will show this message: Please follow the manufacturer's instructions to remove the Z-Wave device from My SmartThings. There will also be a spinning circle next to the message Exclusion Mode Active.

       

  2. While Exclusion Mode is active, perform the device-specific exclusion confirmation (e.g., a physical button press). You can find instructions for excluding certain compatible Z-Wave devices in the Things category.

       

  3. The app will confirm device exclusion.

       

  4. Tap Done.

Was this content helpful?

Comments:

How would you like to contact us?

Give us a call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864)
Mon - Fri : 8AM -12 AM (EST) Sat - Sun : 9AM -11 PM (EST)
Printer support visit: hp.com/support/samsung

Chat with us

Live Chat support with a Samsung product expert.

24 HOURS 7 DAYS A WEEK

Help with your order

Send us your inquiry and we will respond within 24 hours.

Social Support

Contact us on Twitter or Facebook and we'll reply with an answer to your question or issue.

Send us an Email

We’ll respond within 24 hours of your request.

Question about a promotion?

Learn more about Samsung promotions.