Perform a factory reset on your Galaxy phone or tablet
Perform a factory reset on your Galaxy phone or tablet
Perform a factory reset to erase all apps and data
- Please save any information you need prior to the factory reset because your personal information may not be recovered.
- If you have encrypted the microSD card, you must decrypt it before resetting the device. Otherwise, your device will not be able to read the data on the card. From Settings, search for and select Decrypt SD card, and then follow the on-screen prompts.
- A network connection will be required to log out of your Samsung account before you can complete the reset.
- If a Samsung account is signed in on the device, you must enter the Samsung account password to complete the reset process.
- If you are trying to reset your device because you are locked out, see our guide for assistance.
A factory data reset restores your phone to its factory settings and removes all personal data.
Before you perform a factory reset, click here to view our support guide on how to back up your personal data, so you don't lose it all.
Follow the steps below to perform a factory data reset.
- Navigate to and open Settings, and then tap General management.
- Swipe to and tap Reset, then tap Factory data reset, and then review the information.

- When you're ready, swipe to and tap Reset.
- Tap Delete all.
- If you have a security lock set, you will be asked to enter the credentials.
- If a Samsung account is signed in on the device, you will be asked to enter your Samsung account’s password to complete the reset.
- Your device will reset; when it turns back on, it will start from the initial setup screen.
If you cannot reset your device or complete the initial setup due to the account credentials that are stored on the device, please contact us for assistance.
Understand Google Factory Reset Protection (FRP)
What is Google FRP?
Google Factory Reset Protection (FRP) is a security feature designed to help protect your device if it is lost or stolen.
When a Google account has been registered on a device, FRP may require account verification after a factory reset before the device can be used again.
This feature is included on Android devices running Android 5.1 (Lollipop) and later as part of Google's security policy.
When is FRP activated?
FRP is triggered when the device is reset using methods other than the Factory data reset option in Settings.
After the device restarts, you may be required to verify the Google account that was previously registered on the device before setup can continue.
On devices running Android 9 and later, you may also be able to verify ownership using the previously configured screen lock method, such as a pattern, PIN, or password.
Reset all settings without erasing apps and data
You can reset your phone or tablet to its default settings without erasing apps or data. This type of reset will not erase security or language settings, accounts, personal data, or settings for your downloaded apps.
- Navigate to and open Settings, and then tap General management.

- Swipe to and tap Reset, and then tap Reset all settings.

- Review the information, and then tap Reset settings.
- Tap Reset to confirm. Your device will restart after a few moments.
Reset mobile network or Wi-Fi and Bluetooth settings
Reset mobile network settings
- Navigate to and open Settings, and then tap General management.
- Swipe to and tap Reset, and then tap Reset mobile network settings.

- Review the information, and then tap Reset settings.
- Tap Reset to confirm.
Reset Wi-Fi and Bluetooth settings
- Navigate to and open Settings, and then tap General management.
- Swipe to and tap Reset, and then tap Reset Wi-Fi and Bluetooth settings.
- Review the information, and then tap Reset settings.

- You will need to reconnect to your Wi-Fi network and Bluetooth accessories after the reset.
Reset accessibility settings
If you need to change up your accessibility settings, you can reset them. This will erase your preferences for TalkBack, Spoken assistance, and more, so you can start fresh.
- Navigate to and open Settings, and then tap General management.
- Swipe to and tap Reset, and then tap Reset accessibility settings.

- Review the information, and then tap Reset settings.
- Tap Reset to confirm.





