1. Home
  2. /
  3. How do I delete all of my personal information from my Samsung Galaxy J1™?

How do I delete all of my personal information from my Samsung Galaxy J1™?

Your device lets you perform a factory reset to delete all of your personal information from the device (the microSD™ card is not affected). This feature lets you ensure your data are removed before sending the device in for replacement or repair, properly disposing of the device, or giving the device to a friend or family member to use.

Perform a Factory Reset

Your personal information cannot be recovered after using this feature. Please save any information you need prior to using this feature.

  1. From the Home screen, touch Apps.

  2. Touch Settings.

  3. Touch Backup and reset.

  4. 4. Touch Factory data reset.

    Touch Factory data reset.

    Samsung Galaxy J1 Delete All of My Personal Information
  5. Review the information provided. Mark the Format SD™ card checkbox if you also want to delete the information on your microSD card and Touch RESET PHONE.

    Formatting your microSD card will remove all personal information from the card. This information cannot be recovered.

    Samsung Galaxy J1 Delete All of My Personal Information
  6. Touch RESET PHONE.

  7. If you have a security lock set on the device, you will be prompted to enter the lock information before proceeding.

  8. Touch DELETE ALL to delete all information and downloaded applications.

    Samsung Galaxy J1 Delete All of My Personal Information

  

The process may take a few minutes while your device removes your personal data and restores the Android™ platform to its original state. You can reinstall any downloaded or purchased applications from Google Play™ Store.

Perform a Remote Factory Reset

Google™ offers an Android Device Manager application that lets you track your Android device's location and reset its memory remotely. Both location services and the erase feature must be turned on and active on the device.

  1. From the Home screen, touch Apps.

  2. Touch Google Settings.

  3. Scroll to and touch Security.

  4. If necessary, touch the slider next to Allow remote lock and erase to turn on the feature.

    Samsung Galaxy J1 Delete All of My Personal Information
  5. Touch ACTIVATE.

    Samsung Galaxy J1 Delete All of My Personal Information
  6. From your computer, sign in to the website using the Google Account associated with the device you want to locate.

  7. Click Accept to allow the location data to be sent to Google.

  8. An interactive dialog box displays in the top-left corner.

    Samsung Galaxy J1 Delete All of My Personal Information
  9. Click Erase.

  10. Click Erase again to confirm deletion.

Was this content helpful?

Comments:
28 people found this helpful.
Samsung Customer Service

Samsung Customer Service

Need a repair for your Samsung Smartphone or Tablet?

Visit a Customer Service Location for hands-on service and expert advice.

How would you like to contact us?

Give us a call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864)
Mon - Fri : 8AM -12 AM (EST) Sat - Sun : 9AM -11 PM (EST)
Printer support visit: hp.com/support/samsung
  • call us blue alt
    1-800-SAMSUNG Mon - Fri : 8AM -12 AM (EST) Sat - Sun : 9AM -11 PM (EST)
  • live chat alt
    Live Chat