1. Home
  2. /
  3. How do I delete all of my personal information from my Samsung Galaxy Note Edge?

How do I delete all of my personal information from my Samsung Galaxy Note Edge?

Your device lets you perform a factory reset to delete all of your personal information from the device. This feature ensures your data are removed before sending the device in for replacement or repair, properly disposing of the device, or giving the device to a friend or family member to use.

Screens and settings available may vary by wireless service provider and software version.

Perform a Factory Reset

  1. From the Home screen, touch Apps.

  2. Touch Settings.

    It may be necessary to switch the Settings menu to list view by touching More options More Options Icon > View as > List view.

  3. Scroll to and touch Backup and reset.

  4. Touch Factory data reset.

    Samsung touch Factory data reset
  5. Review the information provided and touch RESET DEVICE.

    Samsung touch RESET DEVICE
  6. If you have a security lock set on the device, you will be prompted to enter the lock information before proceeding.

  7. Touch DELETE ALL to delete all information and downloaded applications.

    The process may take a few minutes while your device removes your personal data and restores the Android platform to its original state. You can reinstall any downloaded or purchased applications from Google Play Store.

Perform a Remote Factory Reset

The Allow remote lock and erase feature must be activated on the device prior to using Android Device Manager to reset your device's memory.

Google offers an Android Device Manager application that lets you track your Android device's location and reset its memory remotely. Both Location services and the erase feature must be turned on and active on the device.

  1. From the Home screen, touch Apps.

  2. Touch Google Settings.

    It may be necessary to switch the Settings menu to list view by touching More options > View as > List view.

  3. Touch Security or Android Device Manager.

    It may be necessary to scroll to and touch Applications or Application settings and then touch Google.

  4. Scroll to and touch Security.

  5. Touch the slider off next to Allow remote lock and erase to turn it on . 

    Samsung enable Allow remote lock and erase
  6. Touch ACTIVATE.

    Samsung touch ACTIVATE
  7. From your computer, sign into the Android Device Manager webpage using the Google Account associated with the device you want to locate.

  8. Click Accept to let the application send the location data to Google.

  9. An interactive dialog box displays in the top-left corner.

    Samsung interactive dialog box
  10. Click Erase.

  11. Click Erase again to confirm deletion.

Use Find My Mobile to Wipe Your Device

You can also use Samsung's Find My Mobile service to remotely wipe your device. In order to use this feature, you must turn on Remote controls for your device.

   

Turn On Remote Controls

  1. From the Home screen, touch Apps.

  2. Touch Settings.

    It may be necessary to switch the Settings menu to list view by touching More Options Icon > View as > List view.

  3. Scroll to and touch Security.

  4. Touch Remote controls.

    Samsung touch Remote controls
  5. If prompted, enter your Samsung account password and touch CONFIRM.

  6. Touch OK.

    Samsung touch OK
  7. Touch the slider OFF next to Remote controls to turn it on.

    Samsung enable Remote controls

   

Remotely Wipe Your Device

    You must sign into your Samsung account and have Google location service turned on to turn Remote controls on.

    Navigate to http://findmymobile.samsung.com and follow the steps below to remotely wipe your device.

  1. Hover your mouse over the Find panel.

    Samsung hover over FIND
  2. Enter your Samsung account login and click SIGN IN.

    Samsung click SIGN IN
  3. If necessary, click Down arrow in the top-left corner and select the device you want to access.

  4. Click WIPE MY DEVICE.

    Samsung click WIPE MY DEVICE
  5. Enter your Samsung account password and click WIPE.

    If your device is not connected to a Wi-Fi® or mobile data network, the wipe will occur once the device reconnects to a Wi-Fi or mobile data network.

  6. Review the information provided and click WIPE to remotely reset your device to factory settings.

    Samsung click WIPE

Was this content helpful?

Comments:
Samsung Customer Service

Samsung Customer Service

Need a repair for your Samsung Smartphone or Tablet?

Visit a Customer Service Location for hands-on service and expert advice.

How would you like to contact us?

Give us a call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864)
Mon - Fri : 8AM -12 AM (EST) Sat - Sun : 9AM -11 PM (EST)
Printer support visit: hp.com/support/samsung

Chat with us

Live Chat support with a Samsung product expert.

24 HOURS 7 DAYS A WEEK

Help with your order

Send us your inquiry and we will respond within 24 hours.

Social Support

Contact us on Twitter or Facebook and we'll reply with an answer to your question or issue.

Ask the Community

Browse answers, ask questions and get solutions from other Samsung customers.

Send us an Email

We’ll respond within 24 hours of your request.

Question about a promotion?

Learn more about Samsung promotions.