Galaxy Tab A (2019) - Add and remove users (SM-T510)

Last Update date : Oct 07. 2020
Galaxy Tab A (2019) - Add and remove users (SM-T510)

When you have friends over, it’s inevitable that someone will want to borrow your tablet. However, if you set up additional user accounts, friends and family can use your tablet and apply their own personalized settings. You can also set up a temporary guest account, so someone can use your tablet without accessing your private files. Keep in mind that the tablet’s main session is the administrator account. An administrator can change security settings, install apps, access all files on the tablet, and make changes to other user accounts.

Information provided applies to devices sold in Canada. Available screens and settings may vary for tablets sold in other countries.

Quickly add a guest account

In a pinch, you can set up a temporary guest account for quick access. The guest user will be able to use your tablet, but won’t have access to any of your personal files or data.

Quickly add a guest account 1

From Settings, swipe to and tap Accounts and backup. Tap Users, and then tap Guest. Your tablet will switch to Guest mode. Any information and data used during a guest session will be stored temporarily.

A Guest account is only created once you use it. Even if the User settings page shows a Guest icon, it does not mean a Guest account is already created on your tablet. 

Quickly add a guest account 2

If you use a Guest account more than once, you’ll be asked whether you want to continue the previous guest session by tapping Yes, continue or reset it by tapping Start over. To exit a Guest session, you’ll need to restart your tablet to go back to the administrator’s main session. You can also switch users from the Lock screen. Tap the Guest icon at the top right corner of the locked screen, and select another account. If you have a lock screen set up, you may need to enter your credentials.

Add a user

Adding a new user is the quickest way to separate your data from your friends’ data without any hassle. A user account is semi-permanent; it will remain on the tablet indefinitely but can be deleted if desired.

Add a user 1

From Settings, tap Accounts and backup, and then tap Users. Tap Add user or profile, and then tap User. Review the information, and then tap OK. When prompted, tap Set up now. Your tablet will automatically switch to the new user - set up the new profile the same way you would set up a brand-new tablet.

Add a user 2

To change the name of the new user, navigate to Settings from the new user’s account. Next, tap Accounts and backup, and then tap Users. Select the current user you want to rename. Type in the desired name, and tap OK.

You cannot change the name of any other user while using a user session.

Add a user 3

When in a User session, you’ll need to restart your tablet to go back to the administrator’s main session. You can also switch users from the Lock screen. Tap the user account icon at the top right corner of the locked screen, and select an account. If you have a lock screen set up, you may need to enter your credentials.

Add a restricted user

Although you trust your friend, you may not want them accessing all the apps on your tablet. Set up a restricted user, so they can only access the app you’re comfortable with.

Add a restricted user 1

From Settings, tap Accounts and backup, and then tap Users. Tap Add user or profile, and then tap User (restricted profile). You must set up a screen lock in order to create a restricted user. If prompted, tap Set up screen lock and follow the instructions. Select the which apps will be allowed and which will be restricted. You can also change the restricted user’s name. Tap New restricted account, enter the desired name, and then tap OK. Tap Back and tap the restricted user you just created. Tap OK to switch to this new session.

Add a restricted user 2

When using a restricted User session, you’ll need to restart your tablet to go back to the administrator’s main session. You can also switch users from the Lock screen. Tap the restricted user account icon at the top right corner of the locked screen, and select another account. Since a lock screen was set up, you will need to enter the credentials to access the Administrator session.

Remove a user

If your group of friends has changed or one of them moved far away, deleting a user is as easy as creating one.

Remove a user 1

To remove a regular user from the Administrator session, navigate to Settings, tap Accounts and backup, and then tap Users. Tap the Delete icon next to the user you want to remove, and then tap Delete to confirm.

Remove a user 2

To remove a restricted user from the Administrator session, navigate to Settings, tap Accounts and backup, and then tap Users. Tap the Settings icon next to the restricted user, and tap the Delete icon next to the user you want to remove. Finally, tap Delete to confirm your decision.

Thank you for your feedback!

RC01_Static Content