1. Home
  2. /
  3. How do I Delete All of My Personal Information From My Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1? (SM-T580 and SM-P580)

How do I Delete All of My Personal Information From My Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1? (SM-T580 and SM-P580)

Your device lets you perform a factory reset to delete all of your personal information from the device (the microSD card is not affected). This feature lets you ensure your data is removed before sending the device in for replacement or repair, properly disposing it, or giving it to a friend or family member.

Perform a Factory Reset

Your personal information cannot be recovered after using this feature. Please save any information you need prior to using this feature.

Formatting your microSD card will remove all personal information from the card. This information cannot be recovered.

  1. From the Home screen, touch Apps > Settings > Backup and reset.

        

  2. Scroll to touch Factory data reset.

         

         

  3. Review the information provided. If available, select the Format SD card if you also want to delete the information on your microSD card. Then, touch RESET DEVICE.

         

         

  4. If you have a security lock set on the device, you will be prompted to enter the lock information before proceeding. Then, touch CONTINUE.

        

         

  5. Touch DELETE ALL to delete all information and downloaded apps.

         

The process may take a few minutes while your device removes your personal data and restores the Android™ platform to its original state. You can reinstall any downloaded or purchased apps from Google Play store.

Perform a Remote Factory Reset

Google offers an Android Device Manager application that lets you track your Android device's location and reset its memory remotely. Both Location services and the erase feature must be turned on and active on the device.

  1. From your computer, sign into the Android Device Manager webpage using the Google Account associated with the device you want to locate.

         

  2. Click Accept to allow the location data to be sent to Google.

         

  3. An interactive dialog box displays in the top-left corner.

         

          

  4. Click Erase.

         

  5. Click Erase again to confirm deletion.

Was this content helpful?

Comments:
51 people found this helpful.

How would you like to contact us?

Give us a call 1-800-SAMSUNG (1-800-726-7864)
Mon – Sun: 8AM – 12AM (EST) Printer support visit: hp.com/support/samsung

Chat with us

Live Chat support with a Samsung product expert.

24 HOURS 7 DAYS A WEEK

Help with your order

Send us your inquiry and we will respond within 24 hours.

Social Support

Contact us on Twitter or Facebook and we'll reply with an answer to your question or issue.

Ask the Community

Browse answers, ask questions and get solutions from other Samsung customers.

Send us an Email

We’ll respond within 24 hours of your request.

Question about a promotion?

Learn more about Samsung promotions.