Perform a factory data reset on your Galaxy tablet

Last Update date : Jan 18. 2022
Perform a factory data reset on your Galaxy tablet

You can perform a factory data reset on your tablet to restore its default settings or delete all of your personal information. This feature is helpful when you want to start fresh. It is also useful if you need to get rid of personal data before sending the tablet in for repairs or giving it to a friend or family member to use.

Note: Information provided applies to devices sold in Canada. Available screens and settings may vary for tablets sold in other countries.

Perform a factory data reset

Note: Your personal information cannot be recovered after using this feature. Please save any information you need prior to using this feature. A factory data reset will not affect data stored on a microSD card.

When it is time to reset your tablet, all it takes is a few simple steps. From Settings, search for and select Factory data reset. Tap Factory data reset one more time, and then review the information. When you are ready, tap Reset. If you have a lock screen set up, enter your security information, and then, if prompted, enter the requested account information. You may be asked to verify your passwords for any account that has been added to the device. Finally, tap Delete all.

Perform a factory data reset

The process may take a few minutes while your tablet removes your personal data and restores itself to its original state.

Once the tablet has been reset, it will bring you back to the initial setup page. In some cases, the tablet may require you to enter account information to verify your identity. For example, Google Device Protection may require you to enter your Google information, especially if your tablet had a forced reset.

If you are unable to complete the setup after performing a factory reset, visit the Support Centre to request service.

Thank you for your feedback!

RC01_Static Content