Removing Location Data from Photos in the Gallery

Last Update date : Mar 24. 2021

Want to share photos saved in your Gallery but don't want to share the location the photos were captured? Follow the below guide for step-by-step instructions. If you do not want Location tags on any of your photos or videos please check out our guide Turning Off Location Permissions in the Camera app for more information.

Please Note: This guide is designed for Australian variant Galaxy devices operating on One UI 3.0. If you have an international device and require further support click here to get in touch with your Samsung subsidiary.

1 Launch the Gallery app icon Gallery app
Launch the Gallery app
2 Long press a photo to select then tap on any other photos you would like to share
Select photos to share
3 Tap on Share icon Share
Tap on Share
4 Tick Remove Location data
Tick Remove Location data
5 Then choose an application to share your photos - follow the in app instructions to share to your preferred contact
Select app to share photos
6 Once shared the Recieving device will be able to view photos within the Gallery app
Viewing shared photos in Gallery app
7 If you have ticked Remove Location data from the sending device, the recieving device will not be able to view the location the photo was captured when swipe up on the image
Viewing Location Data vs Not see Location data on recieving device

Thank you for your feedback!

RC01_Static Content