How do I delete all of my personal information from my Galaxy S6 Edge?

Last Update Date : Apr 09. 2018

Factory Reset


Your device lets you perform a factory reset to delete all of your personal information from the device. This feature ensures your data are removed before sending the device in for replacement or repair, properly disposing of the device, or giving the device to a friend or family member to use.

Important: Your personal information cannot be recovered after using this feature. Please save any information you need prior to using this feature.

Perform a Factory Reset


1. From the Home screen, touch Apps 2 .

2. Touch Settings 2 .

3. Scroll to and touch Backup and reset 2 under the Personal tab.

2


4. Touch Factory data reset.

2


Note: Screens and settings available may vary by wireless service provider and software version.

5. Review the information provided and touch RESET DEVICE.

2


6. If you have a security lock set on the device, you will be prompted to enter the lock information before proceeding.

7. Touch DELETE ALL to delete all information and downloaded applications.

The process may take a few minutes while your device removes your personal data and restores the Android™ platform to its original state. You can reinstall any downloaded or purchased applications from Google Play™ Store.

Perform a Remote Factory Reset


Google™ offers the Android Device Manager application that lets you track your Android device's location and reset its memory remotely. Both location services and the erase feature must be turned on and active on the device.

1. From the Home screen, touch Apps 2 .

2. Touch the Google folder.

3. Touch Google Settings 2 .

4. Scroll to and touch Security.

2


5. Touch the slider next to Allow remote lock and erase to turn on the feature.

2


6. Touch ACTIVATE.

2


7. From your computer, sign in to the website using the Google Account associated with the device you want to locate.

8. Click Accept to let the application send the location data to Google.

9. An interactive dialog box displays in the top-left corner.

10. Click Erase 2 .

11. Click Erase again to confirm deletion.

Use Find My Mobile to Wipe Your Device


You can also use Samsung's Find My Mobile service to remotely wipe your device. In order to use this feature, you must turn on Remote controls for your device.


Turn On Remote Controls

1. From the Home screen, touch Apps 2 .

2. Touch Settings 2 .

3. Touch Lock screen and security 2 .

2   2


Note: It may be necessary to scroll down and touch Lock screen and security 2 under the Personal tab.

4. Touch Find My Mobile.

2


5. If necessary, touch Add account and sign in to your Samsung account.

Note: Screens and settings available may vary by wireless service provider and software version.

6. If necessary, touch the slider 1 to turn Remote controls on 1 .

2


1

Thank you for your feedback!

Not finding what you're looking for? We're here to help.

Online

Live Chat

We’re available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week through Live Chat

Email

Please send us an email for general questions or technical support and we will reply within 24 hours.

Track Your Service

Find out how to track your service online.

SmartThings Support

Help with Hubs, Kits, Sensors and Outlets

How-to-Videos

Watch and learn how to get the most out of your Samsung products!

Samsung Members Community

Join the Samsung Members community! Peer to peer support for mobile phones.

Online Service Request

Find out how to submit an Online Service Request.

Call

1-800-726-78641-800-SAMSUNG

Mon - Sun : 8:30 AM -12 AM (EST)
7 days a week, 365 days a year

Online Shop1-855-254-4747

info.seca@samsung.com
8:30am – 12:00am midnight (EST)
7 days a week, 365 days a year.

* For any printer related enquiries please visit the HP website .

Face-to-face support

Samsung Support Centers

Find out more about how you can get face-to-face help.

Smart Service

Find out more about Smart Service.

Contact Us